Quantcast
Too much low end gear? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Too much low end gear?
Old 10th December 2021
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Too much low end gear?

I tend to buy low end stuff. I'm not a pro, and even though I love writing and recording music, I've had to admit that this is a hobby for me. For some of you, this is your business, and I respect that.

My question is about low-end gear. I tend to find the cheapest stuff I can: interfaces on sale, guitars on sale, off-brand guitars, budget mics. Anyway, I look at the gear I've acquired over the last decade, and I realize that I could have one or two expensive vocal mics that are standard, one American-made fender, and probably one fender tube amp, and I'd probably be fine, but instead I've got a kind of fun little collection of used gear and "sleeper" mics, etc.

I think I can get pretty good recordings that are more limited by my abilities than my gear, so anyway, I guess I would just ask if anyone here in low end theory has found themselves in the same boat? I tend to think that the name-brand, bigger budget items can't be worth all the extra cash they cost, and maybe I like the feeling of getting a good deal or making something else work that's a little different from what everyone else wants. Not much of a question I guess. Just wondering how others feel.
Old 10th December 2021
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
People play great shows and make great recordings on inexpensive gear all the time. If it's working for you, don't even worry about it. Make great music! Yesterday's low-end gear might be tomorrow's classic, who knows.
Old 10th December 2021