The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Plugin Alliance Brainworx BX_Townhouse compressor
Old 14th May 2019
Plugin Alliance Brainworx BX_Townhouse compressor

I thought I’d start a thread about this one because strangely there isn’t one, and it doesn’t even come up in the GS gear bot. I’ve been using it for a couple of months and I find it useful, though it wasn’t exactly love at first sight. For an SSL inspired compressor, it’s on the warm side - seems to emphasise the mids/ low mids rather than having that crisp, focussed, dry sound I would expect.
That doesn’t mean it’s bad in any way, it was modelled after a one of a kind unit so it has no pretence to nail that exact character.
I’ve compared it to the UAD SSL comp and the UAD is hands down closer to “that” sound, but I find that the Townhouse works well too on the right material, once you get to know it.
On busy mixes I prefer the UAD by a mile as it helps to unclutter and tighten, whereas the Townhouse does not. It works, for me, much better on sparse arrangements with more air between the instruments, where it does impart a good sounding and characterful heft.
Some people have complained about the tiny controls and I see where they’re coming from, though personally it doesn’t bother me as much. Brainworx say that amongst their numbers it’s one that they feel particularly proud of - I’d be interested in opinions about it, as it seems to somehow have passed under the radar for a plugin from one of the “big” makers.

Last edited by microwave; 15th May 2019 at 12:13 AM..
Old 14th May 2019 | Show parent
Deleted 54cf535
Quote:
Originally Posted by hato74 ➡️
Nice comp but too much aliasing for me.
Old 14th May 2019 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by hato74 ➡️
Nice comp but too much aliasing for me.
Aliasing Police comes to rescue us.
Old 14th May 2019
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years