Quantcast
Rock/Rap - FIRST Song (wrote, performed, recorded, mixed) Please comment on the mix! - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Rock/Rap - FIRST Song (wrote, performed, recorded, mixed) Please comment on the mix!
Old 27th February 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Rock/Rap - FIRST Song (wrote, performed, recorded, mixed) Please comment on the mix!

Hey,

Just looking for some feedback. I am a newb.. (Skip past the intro to the more dynamic parts of the mix) Probably did some stuff that is not right like eq'd/ compressed stuff too much. I don't know. I spent a fair amount of time so far mixing this, and changed the guitar eq a million times at every section.

Just looking for some tips or ideas on what people with more experience have to say. I have attached the file!

Let me know

EDIT: added a newer version in latest post
Attached Files

stoptwistedmixtester4mp3.mp3 (4.60 MB, 69 views)

Last edited by animositynow; 1st March 2014 at 06:57 AM.. Reason: added a newer version below
Old 27th February 2014
Lives for gear

2 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
Hey,

Ok I'll bit. Here's some thoughts.

First, I would guess that your monitors and room that you are mixing in is probably not set up to give you and accurate sound. The two best things that I would suggest is A/B your song against other tunes that sound similar in your room…a lot! Then you might wanna pick up some 'Audiophile' head phones like the Sennheiser HD600's or something to mix on. They would eliminate your room and be more accurate than cheap monitors. Remember you are going to make mixing decisions based upon what the room tells you.

First thing I noticed was how the mix sounded narrow and disproportionate. Somethings aren't loud enough and others to loud. Also, you can't have everything panned close to the middle…so work on your panning. Delay on guitar parts can add depth - have the guitar on one side and the delay set to the other side.