Quantcast
Mixing virgin - hard rock - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mixing virgin - hard rock
Old 10th February 2009
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Mixing virgin - hard rock

OK...My band recorded 14 tracks in my basement on Cubase. We are starting with one track to do some mixing to get a general mix to be copied to the rest of the songs. We started with the attached song which had the least number of tracks (20) and they all exist on the other songs, so we should be able to copy these mixer settings to the other songs for a good start on them.

Looking for advice on our first pass. This is my first time ever mixing so any advice criticism whatever is appreciated. 12 tracks were the drums, 2 tracks to one rhythm guitar using different mics and placement to be mixed (5150 4X14), ditto to the other guitarist's rhythm guitar (Engl Powerball), same for lead guitar (Engl Powerball), bass, and vocals. This mix excludes vocals at this time.

Only some individual track EQs, compression, gating have been done, nothing on the main output.

Ideas or whatever to help us make this sound good.

Thanks.

[ATTACH]Old Mudd[/ATTACH]
Attached Files

01 Track 1.mp3 (4.71 MB, 205 views)

Old 11th February 2009
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
ahhh...all these looks and no feedback? I was so anxious to get home and long in :(
Old 11th February 2009 | Show parent
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
first off... kudos on a very respectful first ever mix. i've heard worse product from supposed "engineers" before.

just a couple ramblings since no one else was feeding your hunger... keep in mind these are just opinions.

* the lead guitar could use a bit more presence in the mix than it currently has.

* the snare seems it could use some air. possibly some bite too depending on your preferences.

* consider some eq on the toms. they have a boxy/dead character about them.

* i am interested to see what kind of vocal work will be added to this.