Quantcast
Bands don't understand what I am offering... - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Bands don't understand what I am offering...
Old 16th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Bands don't understand what I am offering...

I would like to hear other experiences with this..

I am a producer with a solid track record and a great pro rig (tape tons of hardware), but it seems every local band I have talked to lately either has no interest in working together or has no clue what I am about. Many bends don’t even respond. My only clients are those flying in or working with me over the web.

The thing that baffles me, is most of the β€œmid grade” (003 ect..)studios doing well in the area. I have yet to hear a great (sounding) album that has come out of this area.

It’s like offering gourmet food and everybody wants fast food. This place is strange and I am getting frustrated.
Old 16th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
how do your rates compare to the mid-grade studios you mention?

-synthoid
Old 16th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
It's not that they don't understand what you're offering, it's that they're addicted to fast food and the cheap labour force that services that industry.
Old 16th September 2012
Gear Guru

2 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
It's also that they are-- mysteriously-- satisfied with generically okay versions of their music. They might also have felt that the experience with the 003's was fun and uplifting. Truth is, the actual people are the last ones to be able to authentically discern where their final product falls on a scale of great to awful in the overall scheme of things, they will never hear it like an objective listener does.