Quantcast
Small studio tax advise please? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Small studio tax advise please?
Old 24th January 2003
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 15 years
Small studio tax advise please?

I hope this is the right place to post this subject...

I'm curious how those of you who work music as a side gig go about writing off your expenditures at the end of the year. I've been writing and releasing music actively for the last 6-7 years and started to write off the gear and space I rent for these pursuits about 3 years ago. My music income has always been below what I make from selling music, but there's always a little cash coming in throughout the year here and there, although in all honesty it's nowhere near what I spend on music related persuits. I consider my studio and music productions a small buisness endeavor outside of the jobbie job that pays the bills, so I write it all off when tax time comes.

My question is when in this situation (operating at a loss for 3+ years), is there a limit to how many years you can operate at a loss and write off the gear and production as a buisness expense? I'm keeping very clean records of what I spend money on and how I make money. I've been going to H&R Block to do this since I started since I was very weary of doing something potentially illegal and they continue to say everythings fine, but this one guy I spoke to last year was unsure about how long you could go on as a bleeding buisness.

Does anyone else have experience in this arena?

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

Lee
Old 24th January 2003
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 15 years
Anyone?
Old 24th January 2003
Moderator emeritus

๐ŸŽง 15 years
I assume that since you went with H&R Block that you're in the US - I have to assume that the tax laws are different in other countries.