Thoughts from the experts on Iso Cabinet designs - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Thoughts from the experts on Iso Cabinet designs
Old 2nd March 2014
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
Thoughts from the experts on Iso Cabinet designs

I'm going to building two of these for my one-room studio. Naturally, I've been watching some DIY build videos on YouTube, but noticed there's really no consistency in the designs:

- some have speakers built-in, mounted to the iso cabinet: wouldn't this negatively affect the tone vs. making it large enough to fit an 1x10/12" cab? I'm not an expert on speaker cabinet design, but with that in mind, I find keeping the cab designed by the manufacturers (experts) seems the most logical, if not inefficient space wise.

- the material typically seems to be a combination of Auralex-style acoustic foam and rockwool. Due to the small size, would there be a better material choice? Would a diffusor work better in front (i.e. speaker/mic | diffusion | absorption | wood).

- the design from an acoustic perspective seems to be inconsistent as well: some put the speaker in the corner facing the opposite corner, Auralex foam on the sides, shaped in a semi-circle opposite, etc. Maybe within these constraints, acoustics (beyond leakage outside of the box) is irrelevant due to the size and volume (these boxes are meant to be cranked)?

I'd like to hear from the experts on how they feel a properly-designed iso cab should be put together, what's important, what's not, etc.
Old 2nd March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I wouldn't count myself as an expert, but a few thoughts on it...

An iso box would be too small for a diffuser.

Having the speaker built in might hurt iso a little, but the box sitting in a box without some sort of decoupling will also have flanking paths. In practice not likely to be a huge difference there...