Quantcast
Help with desk and monitor positioning in small room (noob) - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help with desk and monitor positioning in small room (noob)
Old 26th February 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Help with desk and monitor positioning in small room (noob)

Hi all! So, I have been producing as a hobby for a few years now but have mainly been using headphones. Recently, I decided to finally get some cheap but decent monitors as I was in a friend's studio and really noticed how they give a new dimension to sound.

After hours of reading reviews on the forums here, I decided to go with the JBL LSR305's and I have to say; so far I am delighted with my choice. While reading reviews, I also realized the significance of their placement in a room. As they are rear-ported monitors, I decided to try and put as much distance between the ports and a wall, so I positioned my desk in a way which would allow this. The only problem is that I now have a window about 2 feet behind the 'sweet spot' of the equilateral triangle and was wondering if this has the potential to cause me serious problems (do the curtains help reduce reverb when they're shut?).

Soo, yes. As I am rather inexperienced, I figured I would take some pictures of the room and ask you guys, who are much smarter than me, about your opinions on how I should position my desk and stands to get optimal sound in this room.

Before you suggest acoustic treatment, keep in mind that I'm in a student flat and will only be here until June. Also, I just dropped like 6 months of my savings plus birthday and christmas money on these monitors, stands, pads, cables, etc.. So I really can't afford panels at the moment.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with desk and monitor positioning in small room (noob)-photo-2.jpg   Help with desk and monitor positioning in small room (noob)-photo-1.jpg   Help with desk and monitor positioning in small room (noob)-room-plan.jpg