Quantcast
Newbie Here Planing On Opening Small Studio - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Newbie Here Planing On Opening Small Studio
Old 21st January 2013
Here for the gear

๐ŸŽง 5 years
Newbie Here Planing On Opening Small Studio

Hey guys I am new on here, but have been lurking the forums for a good 2 years or so now so I don't make a complete idiot of myself when I post for the first time (i.e: now).

So basically I am opening a small studio and would love the hear some suggestions from you guys on what I can do to make this the best studio possible within reasonable budget.

So basically this is what I have so far.

We are planning on having a space that is rectangular at-least 15 ft wide by 30 ft long. Acoustic treatment everywhere that is necessary covering 50-75% of studio walls. Ceiling clouds, diffusers, bass traps and the works.
Studio monitors will be placed lengthwise at least 1 meter from the back wall converging at 60 degree angles to the centre of the room.

On studio monitors we are deciding on a pair of Mains between: Adam A77X, Dynaudio BM15 a's and Monroe Egg 150's... I was also looking at Adam P33's, but I could not see if they are good or not since they are old. I would prefer their 150hz crossover to the 400hz of the A77x's but I could not find any threads that stack them up against each other.
We will also have a pair of Yamaha NS-10's for a secondary reference just to make sure the mix's bang.

Now the catch is that we will be a studio primarily specializing in EDM and not so much band work.

So recording gear at the begging will be limited but plan to further expand when/if the studio picks up pace.

We plan to start off with an RME Fireface UFX audio interface with an SM7B and SM81 with a Great Rive NE-MV1 preamp since the only real recording done in the begging will be mostly single guitar works and vocals.(We were looking for the best all rounder mic's for the start)