Quantcast
Is this space large enough for multiple rooms? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Is this space large enough for multiple rooms?
Old 20th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Is this space large enough for multiple rooms?

Hello!

I have a garage in my home that was converted in to a usable space not too long ago that I am trying to turn in to a studio. I'm extremely new to the entire practice of acoustics, and have been lurking this forum for a long time now. Basically I am trying to figure out if the space I have is large enough to accommodate at least a live room, a control room, and a small vocal booth. The space has one exterior door and one interior door, as well as support poles.

The room size is: 21' wide x 25' long x 8' tall

Edit: It may also be worth noting that my floors are concrete with cinder block walls.

Old 20th January 2013
Lives for gear

3 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
I'd be thinking more along the lines of having two booths (one at each door) plus a live/control room. If you make a CR, booth and a live room in that space, you'll need a large fraction of your footprint dedicated to bass trapping.
Old 21st January 2013
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
I am sure you could divide up the the room but there is also no reason not to keep in one large room and use the money to treat it. Not sure what kind of budget you have but it starts to get pretty expensive (and take up a lot of room) once you try to divide up things if you want any kind of iso.
Old 21st January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
The challenge I see with iso-booths on the 2 corners is going to be coming up with a control room that makes sense.

Control rooms should be symmetrical in design. Taking 2 chucks out of opposite corners of the room are gong to make that very difficult without turning what's left into a very small control room.