Quantcast
Removing echo from an old classroom - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Removing echo from an old classroom
Old 18th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Removing echo from an old classroom

I hope you don't mind my asking a non-recording question about room acoustics. I work as a tutor for students who have dyslexia. The classroom where we have been assigned to work has terrible echoes that make it difficult for the students to hear exactly what we are saying and fore us to hear if the student is making a mistake. Being able for everyone to hear speech clearly is very important to us. The room is 36x23x12 with smooth plaster walls and ceiling, windows along one wall, and a slate blackboard along another. There is a picture rail along the top of the walls. We tutor in small cubicles in two corners of the room (standard business cubicles). As you might guess, there is little money to do anything substantial, perhaps under $500, and I doubt I can get the school to allow us to make any changes to the walls or ceiling.

1. Would it be feasible to treat just our small cubicle areas, or do we need to treat the whole room?

2. I've read differing points of view regarding the effectiveness of moving blankets like those from from U-Haul -- are they a waste of money, or would they provide some help? Would we be better off by saving our money until we can afford acoustical blankets or panels of some kind?

3. What percentage of the walls would we need to cover to make a significant improvement?

4. Is it better to place the treatments up high or at face level?

Thanks so much for any help you can give me. I really appreciate it!
Pete
Old 18th September 2012
JWL
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years