The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
New Live Room at Giant Wafer Studios
Old 8th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
New Live Room at Giant Wafer Studios

Hello folks, I have just started a photo diary over here,

https://gearspace.com/board/photo-di...extension.html

I have been talking with DanDan for the last 8-9 months and acoustic treatment is pretty much decided. the correct way to go about achieving isolation is a little less decided and that is where I thought maybe some folks around might help. As I said on the photo diary intro I don't need to go nuts with isolation as I live in a very remote location and maybe 10 vehicles go past in an average day. I have lost one quiet classical guitar take once because of a loud tractor in 10 years! I would like it to be quite a bit better than it is now however and the ceiling will be very important. It rains all the time in Wales and I definitely want to get rid of the rain noise on the roof.

I will be back with more info soon. I have concrete coming for the slab in 15 minutes!
Old 11th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Ok so I am not 100% on getting the best isolation possible without spending the Earth.

When the shell is up I will have a single skin 6" concrete wall on all 4 sides, my plan was to build a room within a room.

Originally we had decided on one stone wall but for various reasons it wasn't practical so settled on one end wall made from RPG Diffusorblox sat on this,

SWW Masonry Isolation - Mason UK - Acoustic Engineers

The other 3 walls will be 6" x 2" timber inside out walls with 2 sheets of plasterboard facing the cavity, we plan to do this so the acoustic treatment sits between the studs to save space. I planned to sit them on this,

W Pad - Mason UK - Acoustic Engineers