Quantcast
Cathedral vs flat ceiling - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Cathedral vs flat ceiling
Old 27th January 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
Cathedral vs flat ceiling

Hello all. I want to build a small garage-style studio (approx 20'x30'X12') on my property and I'm wondering if a cathedral ceiling would be better than a flat ceiling? I'll be recording acoustic instruments only (violin, cello, guitar). Thanks.
Old 27th January 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
You mean a curved roof, like an inverted smiley? Since this would diminish the total number of corners in the room, theoretically it would be better I guess - though I'm a complete novice.
Old 27th January 2009
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Lightbulb

Yes, when all else is equal a higher ceiling is better than a lower ceiling, even if only part of the ceiling is higher. However, be aware that a peak shape focuses sound under the peak, and you should use absorption as shown in the photo below to avoid that.

--Ethan

Old 27th January 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
Thanks Ethan! If you don't mind I'd like to ask another quick question. Is there a big difference between a concrete floor and a hardwood floor assuming I've done some treatment on the walls/ceiling? I was thinking of having radiant heat in the floor and acid staining the concrete, but all the studio pics I've seen have had hardwood. Thanks again!
Old 28th January 2009 | Show parent
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Lightbulb

There's no difference in sound between concrete and wood, or at least not enough to worry about. Both reflect sound.

--Ethan
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
Thanks Ethan!
Lives for gear

2 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan Winer ➡️
There's no difference in sound between concrete and wood, or at least not enough to worry about. Both reflect sound.

--Ethan