Room Measurement and treatment advice - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Room Measurement and treatment advice
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Room Measurement and treatment advice

Hi Everybody!

I would need some help, optimizing my recording/mixing room. I attached a REW-File with a reading from my listening-position (two readings from each speaker).
I calibrated everything and did the measurement as suggested on the REW-Homepage but as I'm no accoustic pro, I have some trouble reading the results correctly :-P.
I would be very glad if someone could explain where my problematic frequencies are and what I could do about it.

Test-Equipment
Monitor: RFT BR-25
Soundcard: Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Microphone: ECM8000

The second question would be: If I'm recording drums, accoustig guitar or vocals (seperately).
Where would you put them in the romm?
How would you use the mobile walls?
Is the place of the drums in the corner okay, or should I move them more to the center when I'm recording?

Room dimensions: 3,9m x 7,2m x 2,3m

Ceiling: accoustic drywall with 2,5cm rockwool behind (https://www.rigips.de/produkte-syste...8-q/pr00041154)

Floor: Wood Laminate

Red: corner bass trap top to bottom (https://www.thomann.de/de/the_t.akustik_cbt_37.htm)
Blue: standing bass trap 100cm (https://www.thomann.de/de/hofa_basstrap.htm)
Green: 100cm x 50cm melamine panels (https://www.thomann.de/de/takustik_b...0_4er_pack.htm)
Cyan: accoustic curtain (two layers) 500g + 300g (https://www.thomann.de/de/stairville...0g_m_creme.htm)
Yellow: accoustic foam (https://www.thomann.de/de/the_takustik_hilon40.htm)
Brown: mobile wall filled with six 50cm x 50cm elements (https://www.thomann.de/de/hofa_absorber_black.htm)
Door: Removable 2 x 500g accoustic curtain (missing in the sketch)

The wall behind the speakers is concrete (basement) and currently untreated. I'm planning putting there 800g accoustic curtain as well if you have no other suggestions.