Quantcast
Help me build my studio - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help me build my studio
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear
Help me build my studio

Hello music friends

I finally made it to buy a small house with a basement room for my studio (24.4 m2) (L= 5.53 m, W=4.41 m, H=2.21 m) The back of the studio has a window which would be great to keep for light. To have my own studio is my dream since I was a kid. I am a hobby guitarist, singer, songwriter, music producer, mixer, DJ and recorder. So I basically just love everything about music. Don't forget I also have to be able to support a family so I cannot go insane with my investments.

I would like to tell you my plans and see what solutions we come up with. As I read thousands of posts on here the last couple of years I already learned a lot about the wall structures with the 2 wall system etc. although I never dug deep in the calculations yet. I would like to get help on this specific room but I am glad for any help I can get. I will add a plan of the basement to this post.

First off, the house is a double house, meaning one wall is almost connected to the neighbours’ wall with just a small air gap in-between. On top of the basement is my living room. That means the sound should stay in the studio if possible. Maybe small sound leakage up to 40 dB would be a good amount of reduction. So if a drummer hits 110 dB I would need 70 dB noise reduction.