The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Advice on my treatment upgrade plan
Old 1 week ago
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Advice on my treatment upgrade plan

Hello!

I am thinking about upgrading my studio setup and I want to turn to this great forum for some advice on my plan. I am a novice when it comes to acoustic treatment.

My goal:
My room is not optimal, but I love it! I want to improve upon what I have, and make the best out of it. I know it can’t be perfect, but I’m fine with that. So don’t roast me too much...
I want to try to improve my bass response a bit, and I feel that the room might be a bit on the lively end so it wouldn’t hurt to dampen it a bit more.

My current treatment setup:
5 x GIK 242 panels: 2 on both left and right first reflections and 1 as a cloud.
4 x GIK 244 Bass traps: 1 in each corner.
2 x GIK Monster Bass Traps on stands, against the back wall.
(I have attached pictures and .mdat etc)

My plan:
I am thinking about getting 4 Monster Bass Traps and place them straddling the four corners instead of my 244s.

Then move my four 244s to the first side wall reflections instead of the 242s.

Buy an additional 2-pack of 244s, and change the cloud from 242 to 244, and place the second 244 horizontally on the front wall between my monitors.

My five 242s I would sell to fund some of the changes.

That will leave me with:
6 x Monster Bass Traps: 4 straddling the corners and 2 on stands against the back.
6 x 244 Bass Traps: 2 on each side wall first reflection, 1 cloud and 1 on the front wall.

Does this sound like a good plan moving forward? Basically increase the thickness of every panel in the room (except the two monsters that I already got). And gain one additional 244 on the front wall (since they come in packs of two)

Would there be any benefit by adding a range limiter in the 4 monster bass traps in the corners? Or is it best to go full broadband everywhere?

Aesthetics:
 (If someone is interested..)