Quantcast
Nashville number system - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Nashville number system
Old 8th May 2021
Gear Head

Nashville number system

Hello,

I am trying to figure out this chord progression in relation to the Nasvhille number system...

So the chords are:

Dm, G, C, F, Bb, D#, A

I am new to this... so I am trying to understand what the chords are. So far I understand this:

Dm=2
G=5
C= 1
F=4

But I can't figure out what Bb, or D# is?

I imagine A=6?

Could you guys please help me out

Thank you!
Old 8th May 2021
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Never heard of that number system. Can you point us to a reference about it?
Old 8th May 2021
Lives for gear
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nashville_Number_System

Focus on the Chord type section. If you still need help after reading it, let me know.

I don’t use this system; but it looks straightforward.

Ray H.
Old 8th May 2021
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
You would refer to the Bb chord as "b7 major" and the D# chord -- which you should call Eb in this context, probably -- as "b3 major."

I don't usually use the Nashville system either but it makes a lot of sense and it's a good system for most rock, pop, and country songs. It's also a great way for contemporary musicians to start learning and understanding chord functions within a key, which is all based on scale degrees and the chords built on those degrees. Bb and Eb aren't in the key of C by default, so we have to assign modifiers to them. Flats, in this case. You'll also want to delineate chord quality along with root ("major") because they won't have a default quality, unlike the other "natural" chords in the key.
Old 8th May 2021
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Progger ➡️
You would refer to the Bb chord as "b7 major" and the D# chord -- which you should call Eb in this context, probably -- as "b3 major."