Studio Kit or BYOD? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Studio Kit or BYOD?
Old 8th March 2014
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
Studio Kit or BYOD?

Out of ten, how many times does the studio kit get recorded vs. the drummer bringing his own kit (cymbals, snare excluded)? i.e. 9/10 it's the studio kit.

Just gauging whether this is even a non-issue or not (storage of the studio kit when the drummer wants to bring his own).
Old 8th March 2014
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravyface ➡️
Out of ten, how many times does the studio kit get recorded vs. the drummer bringing his own kit (cymbals, snare excluded)? i.e. 9/10 it's the studio kit..
I am trying to remember the last time a drummer brought his full kit in to record. I am a drummer myself and the house kits are in very good shape, so a lot of the clients know that.

A lot depends on the styles of music you are recording. We do a lot of commercial work, jazz, blues, soundtracks, Broadway stuff and not that many Rock Bands. The drummers on those sessions are often hired guns, and do not have their egos tied up with "their sound" as far as the project is concerned. They bring a snare, pedals, maybe a few fave cymbals. They also don't want to be known as the ones responsible for the set-up taking too long!

OTOH, if you have an original speed metal band or something, the drummer is probably not going to be satisfied with a 5-piece, even if it is a very nice one! It may go well beyond his "sound" and "comfort". The songs may require double bass drums and the big rows of toms and specialized cymbals.

Quote:
Just gauging whether this is even a non-issue or not (storage of the studio kit when the drummer wants to bring his own)
the studio is always a 'wreck' once everyone is set up and settled in. If some drums are stacked in a corner or hallway, it's no worse than all the guitar cases, coats, gig bags, pedal boards, unused mic stands, and lunches lying about.
Old 8th March 2014