Quantcast
Should I buy HW's version plugins that I use? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Should I buy HW's version plugins that I use?
Old 6th March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Should I buy HW's version plugins that I use?

Hey Slutz,

I'm a house music producer. Don't record instruments or vocals etc...

I have good converters (lynx aurora), great monitors (S3X-V), I use a couple of sampler, hw synth, but I am fully ITB when I mix.

The plugins I use the most are API 550, waves SSL Channel, waves SSL Compressor.

I have some money, maybe it's time to buy some api 500 series, what do you think?
They are classics, I bet I can't go wrong but I ask you...rather than buying some unknown hw eq/comp I thought buying the hw version of the plugins I use is a good idea....?

Cheers,

J.
Old 6th March 2014
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
I`ve done some shootouts between my LA-3A vs Waves CLA-3A and to be honest you`ll have to be a believer to justify
the usage of the HW unit while mixing . Love the HW unint for taming vocals and bass while recording tho.
Don`t do it , plugins are great nowadays
Old 7th March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Keep it 'in the box'.
After all, you don't record instruments or vocals.
Old 7th March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Ok!
I don't compress that much, I prefer working on ADSR, straight to the source of the sound, and when I compress, I don't do a lot, so, VBC does tje job very well.
Regarding EQ, I don't know, I d be surprise not to hear a diff between a plugin and a massive passive.

The only thing I will buy is maybe a good preamp like CAPI VP28 for my synths and mpc 60...need more levels sometimes.

Thanks guys, any suggestions?

J.
Old 7th March 2014
Lives for gear

4 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
I'd suggest to test them out and see what they do for YOU ..
While the plugins might be close enough to the real thing, the analog versions offer something different.. (usually better)..