Quantcast
Legality of album art - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Legality of album art
Old 3rd March 2014
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
Legality of album art

Not really sure what forum this belongs in but...

does anyone know anything about the legality of using consumer goods in album artwork.

EX: a photograph consisting of a large pile of items including: a superman comic, coke can, beatles record, super mario game cartridge, catcher in the rye, star wars VHS tape, macbook, etc. The pile would have 50-100 items and no one item would be the focus.
Old 3rd March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I'm no expert, but I know that when I do work in the TV industry, NO logos are allowed onscreen without legal clearance. My guess -- and it IS a guess -- is that the same would apply for album art, or any other creative work you plan to sell.

The only case that comes to mind with regards to Album covers is the Stones 'Some Girls' cover, where they got in trouble for using a likeness of Marilyn Monroe among the several dozen other women on the cover. So my guess is that if even the Stones can't get away with one copyrighted image amongst dozens, then you'd be in the same boat.

Again, that's my semi-educated guess. In the TV/Film business, the general rule is that if you don't own it, don't use it or get clearance first. Mind you, there may be an excellent chance that your work will fly under the radar of any lawyers that matter… But that wouldn't mean it's "okay", just that there's a decent chance you'd get away with it.
Old 4th March 2014
Lives for gear

2 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
Like the man said, if you don't own it, you can't use it.