Quantcast
Any audio interface with built-in ANALOG compressor? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Any audio interface with built-in ANALOG compressor?
Old 28th February 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Any audio interface with built-in ANALOG compressor?

Hi there!

I'm a mix engineer/producer. These days I need a portable but professional setup. Usually I use separate audio interface, vocal preamp and compressor. But now I want more portability, is there any Pro audio interface with real analog compression on-board? I want compression to happen before analog to digital conversion, but it the same box. If you have an idea, let me know ) I've checked lots of audio interfaces but most of them have digital compression which happens after A-D conversion.

Thanks!
Old 28th February 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
None that i know of.
Old 28th February 2014
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
Maybe you could use an Aphex USB 500 rack as your interface, and get a preamp and compressor module? I'm pretty sure you can route the modules in series...

Besides that, I can't think of anything that would fit your criteria. Maybe you could go with a very minimal interface and channel strip with A/D but that's still two boxes. A small portable rack seems like a pretty appealing mobile solution though to me. The gator stuff or similar...
Old 28th February 2014 | Show parent
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by pscorbett ➡️
Maybe you could use an Aphex USB 500 rack as your interface, and get a preamp and compressor module? I'm pretty sure you can route the modules in series...

Besides that, I can't think of anything that would fit your criteria. Maybe you could go with a very minimal interface and channel strip with A/D but that's still two boxes. A small portable rack seems like a pretty appealing mobile solution though to me. The gator stuff or similar...
Thanks! Looks interesting. didn't find direct monitoring yet, I'll check details in manual