The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
1176 or distressor next for MY setup?
Old 25th September 2002
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
1176 or distressor next for MY setup?

Hey everyone...
I'm looking to move up to some high end compression next month.

My setup is basically something like this:
DBX 160x (2)
Drawmer MX30
RNC (2)
Art Pro VLA (i'm getting this next week for pretty cheap)
Lots of plugins (bomb factory, mcdsp, waves, etc)

So if you were in my shoes, would you add an 1176 (possibly the purple one) or a distressor and why? I've had ZERO experience with either (except the bomb factory 1176 ) so i'm not sure which way to go, but i know both will sound very nice.

So experts, give me some expert advice!

Thanks
Old 25th September 2002
One with big hooves

🎧 15 years
Tough call. They both cover some of the same ground but do it in a different way. I own a pair of UA1176's but I also want a Distressor or two. I guess that doesn't help does it?

If anything the Distressor is a bit more versatile so I'd be inclined to go with that but the 1176 just has this "thing" to it. I dunno, put a vocal though it and it sounds like a record. Neither one sucks.
Old 25th September 2002
Super Moderator

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay Kahrs

I dunno, put a vocal though it <1176> and it sounds like a record.
I like records. heh
Old 25th September 2002
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I would look at the Cranesong Trakker if I were you too. There's another GS thread with Distressor/Trakker comparing worth checking out on here...
Old 25th September 2002
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I'm looking at the same choices for my next comp'. Personally I'm leaning towards the Distressor for the reason Jay mentioned but I really do miss not having an 1176 at my finger tips... One of each is a bit long for me at this particular moment so I'll probably go with the Distressor for it's "Swiss Army" kind of ability's.