The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Batteries Vs Power Supply For Guitar Pedals
Old 3rd October 2006
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
Batteries Vs Power Supply For Guitar Pedals

I've always been told that batteries are quieter than 9v power supplys and i always assumed it was something to with a potential diffrence issue. Now i'm no techie, but i was just wondering if something like this (see bellow) would actually be as quiet as batteries and if not why not?

cheers

danna

With the increased popularity of retro and other effects pedals etc, there has not been, until now, a reliable 9 volt power supply to operate them. After years of repairing and discarding these inferior units, Sherlock Amplifiers has developed a high quality, reliable, heavy-duty power supply with features not found on other power supply to date. FEATURES: Highly regulated 9 volt DC output: provides hum free operation for all accessory pedals, Keyboards, etc, requiring 9 volt DC. Massive 1 amp capacity: allows operation of as many pedals as required. Overload fuse: internal and external fuses. Optional 18 volt DC output capability: (requires internal mod). Power switch: and output indicator led. 3 DC Output sockets: standard 2.1MM connections. 1 x 1meter DC output lead. (custom leads with any connector made upon request). Heavy-duty diecast powder coated box: indestructible! Hand Made: in Australia.RR $135
Old 3rd October 2006
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Batteries will usually win out because they are a pure DC power source.
A power supply has to take the AC sinewave, flip the negative going portion of the wave over to positive going (the rectifier does this) and then smooth the wave out into DC with caps. Smoothing the peaks and valleys of the "modified" AC wave is the hard part and some supplies do it better than others.