Quantcast
Drum Machine question. - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Drum Machine question.
Old 28th January 2013
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Drum Machine question.

Hey guys, first time poster on here, despite the fact that I've lurked on the forums for a couple of years.

A friend of mine who works in music production told me that the Native Instruments "Maschine" was the way to. I play the acoustic drums, but I have very little experience in drum machines. However, I'm going to start doing solo live shows soon with a loop pedal and I need a good drum machine to accommodate that. I'm also recording in my bedroom/studio in my apartment, so a drum machine would work better due to noise complaints, etc.

So do you guys have any opinions or suggestions as to what I should buy? I want something that can produce realistic sounds as well as synthetic sounding drums. My budget is around $500 give or take $100.

Also, I would prefer NOT to use software. I'm old school in that I like to have the equipment with me, on hand, not on my laptop. And it looks better during live shows.

Thanks in advance for any help/answers.
Old 28th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Get a electronic drum set.
"Life's a garden. Dig it!" ~ Joe Dirt
Old 29th January 2013
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Are there any out there that sound somewhat realistic?
Old 29th January 2013

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
If you want "realistic" then you want a high quality sample player with plenty of memory. A computer is seriously better placed to create realistic drum tracks than a drum machine.

Check out Stephen Slate drums ... read up how they work, because it sounds like you are just finding out about this stuff ...

You could get free software that plays samples, and find free samples on the net. There are thousands of genuine freebies out there: many sound like crap, because they have been sampled from drum machines. Or recorded with poor mics and preamps etc.