Headphones? How does this work? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Headphones? How does this work?
Old 26th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Headphones? How does this work?

Okay, newbie question...

I'm a producer, building a facility in my home. I have a Toft ATB 16 Channel console and I've ordered an Apogee Symphony system. I'm having a tracking room built, and I was just wondering, how the hell do you connect headphones to your console from the tracking room? What is the signal chain, from headphone to the console?

Thanks in advance...

Jack
Old 26th January 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
You need a headphone amp and a long cable!

Plug the headphone amp into the outputs on whatever channells you have your cans submix on
Old 26th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
In other words:

If you are only running one stereo mix to your talent (for arguments sake) normalize your Aux 5-6 channels to your headphone system and whenever using the console send your mix to those aux sends.
Old 26th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Plug the headphone amp into the outputs on whatever channells you have your cans submix on
Old 26th January 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
If you're having a tracking room built from ground up, why don't you have a through-wall patch bay system?
Old 26th January 2013 | Show parent
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomtomtom1230 ➑️
If you're having a tracking room built from ground up, why don't you have a through-wall patch bay system?
This is a whole other discussion, but thanks for bringing it up! I've been looking into these systems for a while, and would LOVE to have one installed (nothing worse than bundles of wires going through room to room). Problem? Don't know where to buy one! Do you guys know any manufacturers or stores you'd recommend that carry these wall based patch bays?

Quote:
You need a headphone amp and a long cable!

Okay, does anyone have any recommendations?

Quote: