Quantcast
003 rack black lion mod nowadays - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
003 rack black lion mod nowadays
Old 24th January 2013
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
003 rack black lion mod nowadays

ok people..... I am a mixing engineer with meticulous hearing (20 years guitar player musician) .. My mixes sound good but I am never actually satisfied ....actually they sound very good (clients are happy)....but it really hurts when I compare them with my favorite records...

I just came from a listening test on a hd system 2.
I am very impressed with how it reveals what is behind (if you know what i mean) lovely stereo image, transparency and all that good stuff...

After that I am feeling a big urge to upgrade because I need this transparency to make my life easier while mixing..

Right now I have a 003 rack BL Signature Series Mod in my hands which is been sold in $1500 (accommodated to me so I can pay in like 4 months or so)

I like how it sounds comparing it with my 003 rack.
I am doing kind of an A/B test while listening to my favorite music... (swapping units take like 120 seconds ) so I hope I am not imagining the improvement, but that's another subject I think..

All I need to know is what would be your recommendations, should I go with the BL mod or should I wait and invest on something else??

My price range is actually lower than 1500 right now, but I Am going to pay in 5 months, so it is a pretty neat deal I believe

I just got a client who wants me to mix 15 songs in the next 2 months , so that's why I am maybe with the urge....

In case you need to know I also record drums, vocals and everything in my Rec Studio. I have 3 external preamps which are: Black Lion Auteur, FMR Audio RNP 8380, ART DPS II. My speakers are the HS 80M and I mix ITB.

I believe that the converters are the most important right now because of my mixing duty lately..
My room is very well treated and my skills are very good too.... so no worries about it....