Quantcast
Balancing Two guitars volume - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Balancing Two guitars volume
Old 23rd January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Balancing Two guitars volume

Recently my band picked up a second guitarist and this is my first time working with two guitars and being the person who calls the shots :P. I find that when I'm playing I tend to be able to hear him a lot more than myself so i crank myself up then when i can finally hear myself others complain that im too loud. Being new to having a band I would love to hear some opinions about setting up amps(which way they should both be facing, which noise levels are right, where should i be standing, etc.) from people who have a lot more experience than me.

Gear I'm Using
Mesa Single Rec
Marshall 1960a Cab
Gibson SG Special

Gear He's Using
Peavey 5150
Carvin 2x12
Gibson LP faded

Thanks!
Old 23rd January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
It's most likely because your speakers are projecting at your band members, and not yourself. Put your cab up on something so that it points at your ears and you'll most likely have an easier time hearing yourself at lower volumes, and he should do the same.
Old 23rd January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Volume is most likely not the real problem... Guitarists are truly the most stubborn about maintaining "their tone" regardless of the needs of an overall mix. I have found that they are the biggest culprits also have the worst ear for picking things out of a mix.