Quantcast
What Should You Know Before Interning At A Studio? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What Should You Know Before Interning At A Studio?
Old 22nd January 2013
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
What Should You Know Before Interning At A Studio?

I've been producing music on my own for 5 months and now i'm looking at interning at a studio. I'm willing to bust my ass and work hard but are there some basics I should know before interning or can I learn along the way?
Old 22nd January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
At our studios it would be "" know thy system" ....inside and out & understand the DAW or analog system we employ.
Old 22nd January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
There was a thread on this very recently - try the search function.
Cheers, Ross
Old 23rd January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
1. Know how to stay out of the way, while still being helpful

2. Attention to detail

3. Studio Etiquette

The bummer is though, these days a lot of the "bigger studios" will require you to be associated with a school.
Old 23rd January 2013
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
I read the previous threads thanks guys.
Old 23rd January 2013
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
If working (and/or interning) at a commercial studio the main
thing is to understand that studio work is;

20% technical
80% social skills

So prepare yourself with positive attitude towards doing millions of cups of delicious tea and/or coffee (depending where you're based), running out to pick up lunches(always remember to bring back receipts!), ordering dinners, cleaning, taking care everything possible including clients' children & pets, ordering whatever for whoever.., rolling up, etc.

Then you might get a chance to enter the wonderful world of soldering, organizing stocks/inventory, painting, doing construction work, lifting instruments & machinery, re-naming patchbays..