Quantcast
Newbie Student DID I GET LUCKY? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Newbie Student DID I GET LUCKY?
Old 21st January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Newbie Student DID I GET LUCKY?

I have NO background in audio, first year film student. I've picked up a Seinheisser M416 which in my opinion has alot of spill in the sides and used it in a open air rally during street interviews plugged into a H4N with its cheap pre amps.

With people all around I actually isolated speech from 12ft away while mounted on a camera not even boomed. The only thing I did was clean up some hiss in post with Auditions noise processing tool.

I compared the results to a $5000 audio rig with dedicated boom & pro mixer and can hardly tell the different except for a lil more depth which if you dont play side by side the audience would never know.

DID I FLUKE THIS? I DONT UNDERSTAND
Old 21st January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Maybe you got lucky. Though you said you were a newb, so maybe you think it sounds pro, but maybe a pro would think it sounds amateur. Who knows. Maybe you have hidden skills you never knew about.

Sent from my DROID RAZR
Old 21st January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
perhaps its the 3 speaker setup with 2 cheap mids and a sub that doesnt allow pickup of fine differences, but then again who plays viral short films on a surround sound theatre?
Old 21st January 2013 | Show parent

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by sallyK ➑️
but then again who plays viral short films on a surround sound theatre?
"good" and "good enough" are sometimes interchangeable for sure.

Though assuming you mean the MKH 416:

Sennheiser MKH 416-P48U3 - Microphone - Short gun microphone

This is a shotgun mic, which means it's designed for focus not wide pickup.

Stick it in a fluffy dog on a boom, and you've got yourself a boom mic. That's one of the jobs it's designed for.

It's more likely that you've underestimated how good it's rejection is!

From the website: