Quantcast
DIY Speaker Isolation Solutions - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
DIY Speaker Isolation Solutions
Old 22nd September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
DIY Speaker Isolation Solutions

Just to let you know, I am a complete noob when it comes to gear!

I am looking for DIY solutions for isolating my speakers. For my center speaker I was planning on using some neoprene mouse pads for the corners. However I wasn't sure if that would work in the first place, or work for my floor standing mains, which are 54 lbs.

I have not finished my acoustic traps yet, but I will probably have enough 2" 703 left over to use under the speakers. I also have been considering the primacoutics approach, foam with a steel plate and neoprene to top it off. However I don't know how easy those material will be to obtain or cost (I live in a small town with limited store resources.)

I am open to any and all solutions! I also appreciate any help you can provide me.
Old 22nd September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAM ➑️
Just to let you know, I am a complete noob when it comes to gear!

I am looking for DIY solutions for isolating my speakers. For my center speaker I was planning on using some neoprene mouse pads for the corners. However I wasn't sure if that would work in the first place, or work for my floor standing mains, which are 54 lbs.

I have not finished my acoustic traps yet, but I will probably have enough 2" 703 left over to use under the speakers. I also have been considering the primacoutics approach, foam with a steel plate and neoprene to top it off. However I don't know how easy those material will be to obtain or cost (I live in a small town with limited store resources.)

I am open to any and all solutions! I also appreciate any help you can provide me.
Sorbothane or Blu-tac are just as useful as any other approach - try these cheaper options first.

Sorbothane is particularly easy and Blu-tac particularly cheap.

Tony