Quantcast
recording horns - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
recording horns
Old 16th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
recording horns

I'm recording horns in a couple of days. it's a trio of Trombone, tenor sax and trumpet/flugelhorn. It's horn parts on top of a full track with vocals etc. The music is a little old school. One song has a The Band "up on cripple creek" sound to it with "Meters" brass. The other one is more of a young Tom Waits ballad but with more guitars. I don't have a lot of time to set things up. So maybe you could help me out with some guidelines as I have little experience recording brass, except for the occasional saxophone or trumpet.

1. Stereo setup or one mic per instrument? or maybe even mono?

2. What's the best way to place the players in the room?

3. mic placement?

4. the mics at my place that come to mind are: Re-20 2x, T-Bone Ribbon mic 2x, Md441, md421 and gefell um70.

Thanks!
Old 16th September 2012
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
If the horn players are good and can mix themselves well, you could use one mono mic on them and let them play to the mic. Sounds like you will be placing it in a busy mix.

I would probably try to mic each instrument with some isolation anyway to give some mixing options. Wouldn't bother recording them in stereo because of the busy mix.

Mic options sound appropriate. Ribbons and dynamics usually work well. Gotta try 'em and listen.

Hope this helps.
Old 16th September 2012
Old 16th September 2012
Gear Guru

for the sound your describing I'd mic them individually in the same room, no double track, you're mic choice will be dictated by the sound of each player, although it's probably a good bet that your ribbons will be good for this.
Old 16th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Tpt and bone each on a ribbon, sax on um70. An overall stereo pair would be nice, room depending.
Old 16th September 2012
Gear Guru

🎧 10 years