Quantcast
Overcoming the biggest obstacle in mixing - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Overcoming the biggest obstacle in mixing
Old 13th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Overcoming the biggest obstacle in mixing

Just want to know if other share the same problem: To me the biggest obstacle in coming up with a good mix is....ear fatigue and the related issue, losing perspective/objectivity.

I find that I can only listen objectively for about 15mins. After that, I need more than a few hours gap, actually days in between, before I can come back to a mix and hear the problems. If I try to push it and accomplish a lot within a day, the mix with appear to me with jarring problems a few days later when I re-visit it. Very obvious problems like - why is this kick so lacking in low end? I have some skills, experience and enough tools to fix the problems, but if I can't hear the problem I can't solve it.

So my question is, how do pro mixers manage to finish a mix within 1-2 days?
Old 13th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
This is a good guestion. I also seem to have the same problem sometimes. I will listen to something so long that the whole thing just gets on my nerves. Sometimes I switch back and forth between songs or try to do something else. How do you pro's do it?
Old 13th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
The answer is mix templates that take you to a happy medium so you don't start from complete scratch. Then your 15 minutes of focus can be much more effective. Take a few minutes break, then back at it. Plus a team of people to get perspective from if you need it. Plus a well tuned room and speakers in which you have complete confidence.
Old 13th September 2012
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
I'd say that if you can only focus for 15 minutes at a time, there are other issues involved.
Old 13th September 2012
Lives for gear

3 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howard Willing ➑️