Quantcast
Daft Punk,Madeon how its done?vocal canceling - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Daft Punk,Madeon how its done?vocal canceling
Old 12th September 2012
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
Daft Punk,Madeon how its done?vocal canceling

Hi I love Daft punk but I am new to the world of sampling and such and was wondering how they took out the vocals of some samples. Also how do you do you match all the samples just like how madeon did pop culture. Did he also make a lead and such on a synth for that song?

thank you for your time!
Old 12th September 2012
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
no body wants to help :(? /sniffsniff
Old 12th September 2012
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
It's all about keys man! You don't want anything to clash so setup your samples/vst's etc and put them all in the same key.

When it comes to the whole madeon style it is actually really easy to do. If you have ableton you can do this:

1. go to the live session view and load up a tone of different bass sounds and synths etc
2. set them all up to play the same 2 bar loop(chords)
3. configure ableton to have a random follow action and just hit record.

Eventually you will get a decent set of sounds.

That's all that is needed to be a french producer :P
Old 12th September 2012
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
how bout with fl studio?
Old 12th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
To remove a vocal from a sample (as Kanye did when he sampled Curtis Mayfield for "Touch the Sky"):

1) sample the left and right channels of the source material on separate tracks
2) have them both panned to the center
3) flip the phase on one of the two tracks

This will cancel out any frequencies that were panned hard down the middle (which usually includes the vocal, most of the bass, and whatever else is there).
Old 13th September 2012 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsowa ➑️
To remove a vocal from a sample (as Kanye did when he sampled Curtis Mayfield for "Touch the Sky"):