The best setup for 2000$ ? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
The best setup for 2000$ ?
Old 11th August 2012
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
The best setup for 2000$ ?

Good evening,

I'm a composer, I record only Vocals and D.I (electric guitar and electric bass). I have a budget of pretty much 2000$, I'm looking for a 60s pop sound and more particular this kind of record : Alex Turner- Piledriver Waltz- Submarine with lyrics - YouTube. I know it's been used a AKG C12 and a pultec preamp for the voice. What kind of setup (microphones + preamp) could bring me closer to that sound in my budget ?

Cheers !
Old 11th August 2012
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Anyone?
Old 11th August 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
If you have a preamp now I would use all your cash, maybe more and buy a mic first.

As far as the mic goes, to really find the best one, you need to try the mics on your voice. I am sure many will sound good but the right one will sound amazing and there is only one way to find the right one.
Old 11th August 2012
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
I don't have preamp at the moment, what would u advice like mic and preamp for my budget thus ?
Old 11th August 2012
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
A 60's sound is probably gonna be a tube mic, and you'll have to audition a few to find what fits. Under $2000 will get you something cool, like a Peluso P67.

With your budget, I'd pair that with a clean pre and then color it up with Nebula. That's a great budget solution for a 60's sound (and not just for vocals). For very little money you open up the world of analogue - preamps, tapes, consoles etc. Eqs and reverbs are delicious too. (comps still suck butt however)
Old 11th August 2012
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Thank for the replies, but I think I didn't express myself as I meant to, I'm looking for a mic AND a preamp for 2000$.
Old 11th August 2012
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years