Quantcast
Guitar playin ProTools users... what amp modeler? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Guitar playin ProTools users... what amp modeler?
Old 12th June 2006
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Guitar playin ProTools users... what amp modeler?

Ok, I'm a drummer and don't really know this stuff but I need an amp modeler plug for PT hd to have on hand for emergency tracking and some mix duties. I've used amp farm, and amplitube a little bit.

What's your favorite and why?

Feel free to mention others that will live in PT as well...

thanks!
Old 12th June 2006
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
I still use AmpFarm 3.0 for the modern and saturated amps models (Soldano, Boogie), however if I had to pick one it would be Waves GTR 2.0. The amp models are more organic feeling and sounding to me. Also the multi mic, cabs, and effects options are great.

Best of luck.
Old 12th June 2006
Gear Nut

🎧 15 years
I've used Amplitube and Amplitube 2 extensively. Here's my take on Amplitube 2 I posted to the DUC (short answer is that it sounds awesome, but is a CPU hog):

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...v=#Post1003295
Old 12th June 2006 | Show parent
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
i have used amplitube and guitar rig. GR is amazing. sometimes, i wont even mic the amp, just do a direct in and throw on GR. i wonder how much better GR2 is
Old 13th June 2006 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
Guitar Rig hands down.
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I swear on everything, GUITAR RIG 2 is a Tone Guru's / Power Users Dream. It is a tweakheads Dream with damn good modeling IMNSHO, although as always YMMV. I have heard Waves Guitar TDM and it sounded pretty convincing. I like the fine tune-ability of Guitar Rig (esp. version 2) more, but the fact it is RTAS only slightly hurts as TDM feels better to guitarists who are tracking (in my experience). I base that opinion on the reduced latency, that is inherent with a nice TDM rig, when compared to nearly all Host Based DAW Rigs.

Try guitar rig 2 out