Quantcast
Mics & Preamps for Vocal Recording (Hip Hop) - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mics & Preamps for Vocal Recording (Hip Hop)
Old 19th May 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Mics & Preamps for Vocal Recording (Hip Hop)

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to gear slutz. I am an upcoming hip hop artist from Connecticut. I am currently in the process of buying equipment to build a studio. One thing I hear a lot of people say is having a good Mic and Mic Preamp.

With That Said

1. What are your top five suggestions for Mic's under $1000

2. What are your top five suggestions for Mic Pre-Amps under $1000

3. What else do you feel is essential to building your own home studio set-up?

Please help!

Thank You!
Old 19th May 2012
Lives for gear

4 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeIsBigPat ➑️
Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to gear slutz. I am an upcoming hip hop artist from Connecticut. I am currently in the process of buying equipment to build a studio. One thing I hear a lot of people say is having a good Mic and Mic Preamp.

With That Said

Please help!

Thank You!
Welcome on GS!
First of all let me tell you that all these matters are rather subjective to a certain extent (even if it's true that you might need a good mic and a good preamp for a good recording chain)..
They're subjective simply because if a song has a great songwriting/lyrics it doesn't matter (always to a certain extent) how it was recorded.. It will always be great. Also depends on the genre.. you don't want pristine and clean sounds when doing punk-hardcore stuff.. you might want dirty and distorted stuff and these sounds might be reached in an unorthodoxical way.. Or with gear that might be less than the holy grail of the recording industry (thinking to radioschack mics etc)...or the opposite..recording a classical orchestra with radioshack mics might not be the right approach.. you get my point, right? So it depends, it's personal..