Guitar/Amp/Modeling Advice Required - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Guitar/Amp/Modeling Advice Required
Old 20th February 2012
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Guitar/Amp/Modeling Advice Required

Hi there,

I'm looking for some advice on my guitar setup and potential purchases I should look at.

I've been playing guitar for 15 years or so and about 5 years ago I used to spend a fair bit of time recording bits and pieces of me and the various bands I was in with a very basic setup (which in hindsight probably sounded awful).

However, I've spent the last little while venturing much more into the world of electronic production so it's all been MIDI and VST's and I must admit I'm very much out of touch with what's going on in the guitar world now.

So last night I thought I'd try recording some guitar over a couple of tracks I'd produced which consisted of Kontakt libraries and I was blown away by how horrendously bad it sounded. I tried mic'ing my amp up, which sounded terrible mainly because my mic is crap and my room is small, hard and barely treated. I then tried running through Logics guitar rig stuff which in my opinion also sounded pretty horrible.

The biggest problem was the disparity between the pristine recordings/samples on the Kontakt libraries and the 'DIY home recording' sound of my guitar. So this got me thinking about sorting things out but I'm not sure which direction to go in.

I currently own a US Strat (SSS), an Epi Les Paul with SD APH1's, an Ibanez SA something (HSS) and a wonderful Squier Fat Tele which I picked up for like Β£100 ex-demo and despite being the cheapest guitar I own, I love it.

I've then got a Fender Blues Junior which I love, and a JCM900 100 watt head / 1960A 4x12 which I don't love for home use.