The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Digi Command 8, still competitive?
Old 21st August 2011
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
Digi Command 8, still competitive?

Hey, folks

I'm wondering how the Command 8 is sizing up next to other options in regards to value/quality. I'm not a professional and for the foreseeable future I am PT only. The price for a new command 8 makes it seem less than competitive next to the Avid MC/Artist Mix (I recognize the latter lacks some of the features and would require the "control" unit). But on the used market between $500 and $900 is it the most attractive option? I'm getting lost trying to compare the old Digi control surfaces, the new Avid offerings, and the 3rd party units (Mackie MCU)in terms of capability and quality. In the end, I'm really just looking for ways to navigate faster and get my own ideas captured whenI have few minutes for my music.

Has anyone successfully navigated this topic and been happy with their decision?

Some specifics that would help me, feel free to discuss whatever you want...

Is HUI emulation a "good enough" way to control PT? Does the Mackie stuff leave something to be desired in terms of integration?

How is the monitoring on the Command 8? I've seen some threads warning of noise and the usual descriptors ("smaller sounding") but is anyone using the monitor section and happy with it? I know I can completely ignore it but I'm curious.

How are the faders on the command 8? They seem quiet based on some videos i've watched, but do they have a good feel? I have a Presonus fader port that feels nice if anyone could use that as a frame of reference.

Thanks,
Brian
Old 22nd August 2011
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
Could anyone who owns a Command 8 comment on whether or not they would purchase one again?

Brian
Old 22nd August 2011 | Show parent
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJosephs ➑️
Could anyone who owns a Command 8 comment on whether or not they would purchase one again?

Brian