Quantcast
Connecting a 737sp to 003 rack+???? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Connecting a 737sp to 003 rack+????
Old 17th November 2009
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Connecting a 737sp to 003 rack+????

My 1st post, hope it's in the right place... I am new to recording (2 months) though have been on the other end many times over. I have just purchased a Avalon 737sp and cant figure out the proper way to connect it to my 003 Rack+. I also purchased 2 dbx 160A compressor/Limiters as well and the same question applies.

For now i am running PT LE, 003 rack+, Avalon 737sp, 2 dbx compressors on a mac mini (i know) i have a Monster pro 3500 and i Glyph GT 050Q external hard drive with M-Audio bx5a monitors. That's my whole set up for now but every penny i have is going into this. Any opinions on what my next move should be. Other than get a Mac Pro = ) ..... Thank you for reading this
Old 17th November 2009
mds
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Welcome to the board...

Take the Line Output from the Avalon and go into a Line Input on the 003. Inputs 5-8 are Line inputs on most 003s (they make one with 8 preamps that has no line inputs too). Going into the Line Input bypasses the mic preamp and gives you a cleaner path.

Good luck!
Old 17th November 2009 | Show parent
mds
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Oh, and to answer your question about what else to get, what mics do you have? You can do a lot of good work with a 737 (contrary to what Gearslutz snobs will tell you). You'll need some decent mics...fortunately there are millions of good options these days...
Old 17th November 2009
Deleted User
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisb5150 ➑️
I also purchased 2 dbx 160A compressor/Limiters as well and the same question applies.
1. How are you wanting to use the compresser/limiters? On the Avalon signal or no?

2. Make sure your cable is XLR(Balanced) on the one end coming out the 737 and TRS(Balanced) on the 1/4" side going into the DIGI
Gear Head

🎧 10 years