Upright piano recording at home - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Upright piano recording at home
Old 15th November 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Upright piano recording at home

Hi expert people ,

My 11-year-old son is a piano student (classical) and he needs to have some decent recordings of his playing either for competition purposes or just to listen to and improve.

Up to now I followed him around with a Canon HD camera and directional microphone and then extracted the audio when needed. Obviously this doesn't give good results.

Could you please advise me what chain of electronics equipment I should get ? (I have been studying the forum posts but the information is fragmented; I am totally new to this field so I would need to buy... everything I suppose !)

Thanks a lot !

PS He has a Pleyel upright at home
Old 15th November 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
what is your budget?

i'm not a familiar with them, but there are lots of flash or sd card recorders of the portable variety. You could spend anywhere from $100 to $1000.
Old 15th November 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by j2dafo ➑️
what is your budget?

i'm not a familiar with them, but there are lots of flash or sd card recorders of the portable variety. You could spend anywhere from $100 to $1000.
OR MORE!!! This is Gearslutz!

Welcome - be prepared to have a much lighter wallet after leaving this place!

I'd first look at a pr. of reasonable microphones - something like the Oktava MK-012's (sometimes labeled MC-012's) - about $200-300 USD for a pr.

I'd consider still recording to the camera, esp. if it can supply p48 (phantom power/48v) to the mics, AND if it can record at 24 bit. If not, a better recorder might be a step forward. An Edirol R4, Zoom H4, or MicroTrak II would be a few of the cheapest ones.