Quantcast
Where does the Shadow hills mono gama really shine? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Where does the Shadow hills mono gama really shine?
Old 15th November 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Where does the Shadow hills mono gama really shine?

I time spent recording is divded roughly like this. Metal/rock 40%, country, folk 40%, Rap/voice overs and other 20% of the time. I am new to the world of high end pre's. I have 512c's, Api a2d and shadow hills mono gama's. I bought the mono gama's first for versatility. 2 weeks ago I got the API stuff. I love colored gear and the API really was easy to love. The mono gama's sound fine but are getting relegated to lower on the totem pole. I am just not finding anything that it exels at compared to the 512c. Am I missing something? I really want to love this pre.

Compared to the 512c what does the mono gama really exel at?
Old 15th November 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
i would say that an api 512 vs a mono gama is night and day. the gama is not as quick, but allows for so many more applications (i really only use apis on toms and electric guitars).

for gamas, they are awesome one snare, bass DI, rooms sometimes, piano (!!!), and all kinds of vocals. probably one of the classiest new pres out there.
Old 15th November 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Thanks Shane. I have been so busy tracking that I haven't had time to do a proper shoot out I've been comparing them on the fly. Next week I will organize a few hours to do a proper shootout. This is a pretty convincing list of sources you like it on.

Thanks for the reply.
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Anyone else? I was sure a bunch of people would jump in to share how great their gama's are.
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
I used them recently on overheads. I liked the "nickel" position. The mics were 451's.

-Ben B
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
My experience