Quantcast
B&K mics.....Anyone have experience with 'em? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
B&K mics.....Anyone have experience with 'em?
Old 30th April 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
B&K mics.....Anyone have experience with 'em?

I worked with a fine FOH guy years ago who raved about B&K mics....I don't remember the model numbers, but the were used on snare drum and I believe in overhead micing (pop tour).....I've seen them mentioned here and there and would love to get some insight.....I've never seen or heard one in person.

We own a Millenia hv3 8 ch pre and in my research to find out what the heck the 130v switch was (gimme a break I'm new to this) I was led to the B& K site....
While I'm on the subject, could someone expand my knowledge on the 130v uses....what other mics this would be useful for?
Old 30th April 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Along with Schoeps, B&K were definitely the class of the clean small diaphragm universe, and were the standard in recording classical music. But they are available now as DPA rather than B&K, although i don't know the story behind the change... Maybe someone could regale us with that tale...?
Old 30th April 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I might be not very "politicaly engineering correct", but I always found them rather boring ...

malice
Old 30th April 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I used a rental one for some vocals. It was absolutely crystal clear, but much more susceptible to 'wind' noise than some of the large diaphragm condensors we had there. If you have a really good singer, they can sing in such a way that this is not a problem. In the end we didnt use it for the main bulk, but it certainly sounded excellent.

J
Old 30th April 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally posted by Sly
If you have a really good singer, they can sing in such a way that this is not a problem.
Well, when you have a good singer, nothing is realy a problem ...

Quote: