Quantcast
Seeking Recommendation for Studio Monitors in $400-$900/pair price range. - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Seeking Recommendation for Studio Monitors in $400-$900/pair price range.
Old 27th April 2003
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
Seeking Recommendation for Studio Monitors in $400-$900/pair price range.

Hello,

I am a total amateur seeking some advice on studio monitors for a digital audio workstation. I am interested in the $400-$900 price range. Here are some of the products I am looking at:

Behringer B2031 Truth Monitors
Event Electronics 20/20bas Monitors
Event Electronics PS8 Powered Monitor
Tannoy Reveal Active Studio Monitors
Mackie HR624 Active Studio Monitor

Could anyone be so kind as to give me some advice about, or tell me some of their history with, the monitors listed above? Or, could anyone give me some of the general principles about buying DAW monitors?

One final question: How important is the lowest frequency output that a studio monitor can give? I notice that some of these monitors do vary from around 35-70 Hertz.

Thanks for any help,
Jk
Old 27th April 2003
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
i've said it before and i'll say it again... The Paradigm Studio series in my opinion is of a much higher quality then what you can get in the same price range of the "studio monitors."

The studio refrence 40's you should beable to pick up for aorund 800, the 20's should be around 600, but the bottom end isn't as extended (1 6.5 woofer instead of 2 in the 40's)

I've used them to track alot of different genre's of music and they always translate well.

Marshall Simmons
Old 27th April 2003
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
Just FYI:

My "main" genre is most definitely electronic. Reason/Cubase/etc. Not really many "live" sounds.

That said, I don't want to limit myself in future horizon broadenings either.
Old 27th April 2003
Lives for gear

2 Reviews written
🎧 15 years