Quantcast
edirol fa-66 "good enough"? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
edirol fa-66 "good enough"?
Old 9th February 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
edirol fa-66 "good enough"?

of course, I have high aspirations, but for now, I'm a hobby musician, triggering software sampler via MIDI. I get just a bit of that annoying latency and if I reduce the sample buffer too low, I get the sound artifacts. I would really want the RME fireface400 but am not willing to spend $1200 right now.
so I wonder if edirol's FA-66 is good enough for now. keep me happy with less latency and still fairly good sound quality but for $1000 less.
any opinions?

thanks

EDIT: maybe I should rephrase: what's the best audio interface in terms of low latency for my macbook pro (2.16GHz, 2GB of Ram)
thanks

Last edited by pirco; 9th February 2009 at 10:03 PM.. Reason: specify question
Old 9th February 2009
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
I've never found any of these ASIO things to have usable latency, but one thing I should mention about the FA-66 is that it's supposed front TRS "line inputs" are NOT. The unit will run anything feeding into the front balanced input through the mic preamp. Your only line option is the unbalanced RCA inputs in the rear of the unit.
Old 9th February 2009 | Show parent
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
thanks videoracer.

I am getting used to a couple of milliseconds of latency but would like to get the least latency for the least money :-)

what option other than ASIO gear is there when working with software instruments on my laptop??
Gear Head

🎧 10 years