Quantcast
I need help with a question - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
I need help with a question
Old 6th February 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
I need help with a question

Hey, I'm pretty new to recording; I've never recorded in my life. I get the basic idea of protools, the control surfaces and mixing, midi, and most of the equipment involved. I would like maybe do a summer internship before my senior year of highschool and wanted to know what you guys think about getting certified. I would initially just get the basic operator certificate and later move on to expert and Icon expert. The parents are willing to pay for it as a birthday present but is it a good investment. Keep in mind that I've never really worked with protools before. Is this a good way to get started? I'm pretty smart and am sure I can pick up on the matierial quick.

Thanks
Old 6th February 2009
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
What does the certification training cost? There are many resources for learning PT and the most beneficial, of course, is just using it day in and day out and adding to your repertoire of skills.

That said, knowledge is knowledge no matter how you get it. The certification may in fact be a really great way to immerse yourself in the software and learn its ins and outs and some useful techniques to try. However, if the cost is inflated based on the fact that you are then a "certified Pro Tools operator" I would steer clear. Like the old saying goes, "being a "certified PT operator" and a buck fifty will buy you a coffee."
Old 6th February 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years