Help! Producer - Artist Agreement - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help! Producer - Artist Agreement
Old 3rd February 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Help! Producer - Artist Agreement

Hello.

I just found out that the artist I have been producing for 9 years is going to be offered a deal on Monday. The deal is a total buyout of the album (we keep 50% publishing and mechanical royalties after recouping the advance). The offer is somewhere between $250,000 and $300,000 up front. The album is 3 songs away from being completed and I recorded, produced and lightly mixed everything myself and the artist wrote the lyrics and performed everything in my studio.

9 years ago, when I was 18 years old, I was approached by the artist and told that she would pay me when we "struck a deal." Me being naive and new to producing I went along with it without a contract. To date I have only received a total of $100 for my services, and I have produced over 50 tracks for this artist.

My simple question is, when the deal goes through and I am asked what I will charge for my services, should I charge per track on the album, or on a total percentage of the advance? Also, how do I determine a value that is real and based on the actual work done but at the same time not considered selfish?

I am leaning towards charging a percentage and was wondering if charging 20% to 30% would be seen as fair or too low or too high.

Thanks in advance
Old 3rd February 2009
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Dude! You are in a sticky situation. I hope that your artist friend has integrity. I guess we will see.

You need to get points (percentage) or an upfront fee or a combination of both.