Quantcast
at4051 vs beyer 930mc - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
at4051 vs beyer 930mc
Old 23rd January 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
at4051 vs beyer 930mc

hello, thinking of adding a pair of sdc's for solo acoustic fingerstyle. I have a pair of at4050 and while I'm no mic expert, they seem to work well, especially for the price. so can anyone compare the original at4051 to the mc930 for ac guitar? thanks in advance
Old 23rd January 2009
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
never tried the AT 4051, but I'm very happy with the mc930 on acoustic guitar. But a pair of 4050 on acoustic isn't bad either. What are you missing with your current pair of ATs?
Old 23rd January 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
I had a pair of the AT4051a, and I compared them to my MC930s. I much prefer the MC930 on everything I've used them on, so much so that I sold the AT4051s and got another pair of MC930s. The AT4051s, while not bad mics, didn't have the clarity or depth that the MC930s have.
Lives for gear
AT4051 are so cheap on eBay and even the classifieds, like $200-$250 each. I think they are the best SDC you can get for the kind of coin. I like them on acoustic and drum overheads.
Lives for gear

3 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
i have owned DPA 4011s, schoeps cmc64s, km184s, C481s, C461s, etc, etc, over the years, and the AT4051s are some of my favorite mics for all kinds of acoustic applications. like any mics, it helps to match them to a preamp that flatters their basic character. if you are using a brightish, FET preamp, warmer mics do better. if you are using an older neve or tube pre, a mic with a slight lift in the high end tends to work better. the 4051s seem to work with everything i have around here, from my HV3s to my little mackie mixer - a nice big open and transparent sound.