Advice needed- selecting A/D - for use w. archival recordings - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Advice needed- selecting A/D - for use w. archival recordings
Old 21st January 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Advice needed- selecting A/D - for use w. archival recordings

Greetings!
I’m brand new to the gear game and in desperate need of help!

I’m a grad student working with old analog recordings that are suffering from sticky shed syndrome and need to be archived before they really start to degrade. The recordings are underwater recordings of whales and dolphins, and I’ll be using the digitized recordings for detailed acoustical analysis and research purposes, so I need a really good A/D D/A. Unfortunately my budget is limited to less than $1000. Can you recommend any that will work within the budget and following parameters? Which brands are good for natural recordings?

The specifics I’m looking for are:
4-channel (though, please feel free to recommend good 2-channels as well)
24-bit
At least 96kHz
At least 100db
Internal high-precision clock accuracy ±5ppm
Little to no distortion, crosstalk etc. Need as clean and clear a signal as possible. If possible, no added color.

Thank you so much for your help with this!
~Juliette

Last edited by DreamofOrcas; 22nd January 2009 at 12:59 AM.. Reason: Cleared up some of the spec confusion.
Old 22nd January 2009
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 15 years

I think you are going to have trouble finding anything that really meets your specs... manufacturers claims aside.

The crosstalk specs are way beyond any magnetic recording aparatus that I am aware of... Why such high spec? Seems to me that a tape old enough to get flaky/sticky is not going to warrant specs like that. Do you even have a handle on the S/N of the mic that was used?

What about frequency response - do you need more than 20kHz?

Look at Apogee, Lavry Engineering, and Benchmark media.

-tINY

Old 22nd January 2009 | Show parent
Here for the gear