Interning - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Interning
Old 23rd March 2003
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
Interning

Hey everyone,

Just a little advice or info gladly accepted. I've been interning for about 6 months at a local studio, and believe me I've been busting my ass.

IM just a bit confused on the whole "Training" issue. Considering i received little or no techinical training, as of yet. Just basically watching others mix,,,,which i understand, and setting up mics, etc, etc,,,,but after that I usually just get yelled at constantly for not doing something right,,,,,,,that I have never even been shown or explained how to do it, the first time.

I have a small PT set up at home, and have really not used it much because of the time I put in at the other studio. BUT i have learned a lot as far as techniques go. But i guess I'm getting a little weary or the constant screaming in my face, some justifiable,,,thats ok,,,,,but mostly from things i havent learned or been taught.

Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks for all your info and keep gearslutz rockin!
Old 24th March 2003
One with big hooves

🎧 15 years
Good question. What kind of technical training are you looking for? I didn't get much when I started interning either. Most of what I learned was through osmosis which is a much needed skill to have in the studio. Without that it's almost impossible to tell how a session is headed and what needs are on the horizon. If it looks like the keyboard overdubs are winding down and vocals are next, grab the tube mics and plug them in to get them warm without being asked to do it. Unless you want to be a tech there usually isn't much tech stuff to know, it's more about people skills and listening (not just to the music) then anything else.