Quantcast
what i reference with / what i really like - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
what i reference with / what i really like
Old 13th February 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
what i reference with / what i really like

i have been _really_ sick this week, so i think my posts are unusually moody (even by my standards)

given that, here goes another thought. kind of a two part-er. the first part has to do with how i revise my reference cd every year. i do live sound for a living and lots of recording on the side. since i go to different venues, my reference cd is invaluable. however, i don't listen to any of the bands on it in "real life". i listen often enough to know the material well, but i mean it's not my taste. so the first thought is the common question... what is on your reference cd? i tend to check stuff out based on other peoples lists and change mine accordingly. i am suprised my earlier cd's had material i now hear many flaws in, so some older material is banished.

my current reference includes...

dave mathews (some of the lilywhite stuff, NOT the ballard stuff)
dixie chicks
alison krause
crowded house
nsync (dirty pop is well produced)
fiona apple
verve pipe
michael brecker
steely dan
some other jazz and rock

lots of the current rock stuff is too compressed to be of much service. well recorded rock or some spoken word stuff would be welcome..